A Tenant & Leaseholder Declaration to RBKC

Dear Resident,

If you are against the demolition of your home please tell the Council in writing.

The RBKC’s phony consultation process needs to be challenged.

We need to formally state our position. Partly because further down the line, a judge may ask why we didn’t oppose RBKC plans. Our involvement in the consultation process without formal opposition could be taken as tacit agreement to their plans.

The council is breaking its covenant with us tenants and leaseholders. It is not legally entitled to forcibly change our tenancy agreement or sell social land to developers. They need to have our agreement, or at least our lack of opposition, to pursue their plans – they need our apathy.

Below is a template letter that you can use. Download it, edit it if necessary and send a print out to:

Cllr Nick Paget-Brown Cllr Elizabeth Campbell
Leader of the Council, RBKC
The Town Hall, Hornton Street
London W8 7NX

Or, email Cllr Nick Paget-Brown Cllr Elizabeth Campbell: Cllr.E.Campbell@rbkc.gov.uk

 

Tenant Letter image

Download PDF version

Download MS Word version

 

Leaseholder Letter image

Download PDF version

Download MS Word version

 

In March 2017 we sent the letter to Cllr Nick Paget-Brown and CC’d it to the relevant parties below. We were pleased to receive an acknowledgement from Paget-Brown’s office with a standard statement about the decision to be made in the Autumn. We expect to refer to this declaration when we challenge the council in the courts.

 

Cllr Rock Feilding-Mellen
Deputy Leader & Cabinet Member for Housing, Property & Regeneration
RBKC, The Town Hall, Hornton Street London W8 7NX
cllr.feilding-mellen@rbkc.gov.uk

Laura Johnson
Director for housing
RBKC, The Town Hall, Hornton Street London W8 7NX
laura.johnson@rbkc.gov.uk

Siddiqa Islam
Senior Project Manager, Housing Regeneration
RBKC, The Town Hall, Hornton Street London W8 7NX
yourhomeyourfuture@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Judith Blakeman
Notting Dale Ward (Labour)
RBKC, The Town Hall, Hornton Street London W8 7NX
cllr.blakeman@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Robert Atkinson
Notting Dale Ward (Labour)
10 Gunter Grove
London SW10 0UJ
cllr.r.atkinson@rbkc.gov.uk

Cllr Beinazir Lasharie
Notting Dale Ward (Labour)
RBKC, The Town Hall, Hornton Street London W8 7NX
cllr.lasharie@rbkc.gov.uk